Luke Carlson – Studying at Southern Cross University in Lismore, Australia

It has been a few weeks now and I feel that I’m starting to adjust to the academic mindset from the vacation vibe we had in welcome week. This is not to say I’m sitting around all the time, for I’m still adventuring around and taking any opportunity I can get to try new things and meet new people.

Since my last blog post alone I’ve joined the judo club, went to a rally car race, and took surfing lessons. This has been a great way to meet people from not only the campus but from around the world. While not everything I’ve tried has clicked with me, I still find it worth the experience as each teaches me a bit more about myself.

As for school itself, I find it to be more nonchalant than at home just with the amount of work. With this extra time, I try to go on excursions, but I also try to keep up with people from home just to help with some of the homesickness. Luckily though homesickness is few and far between because most of the time I’m too busy to even think about home.

Finally, the small open community at the dorms has really helped me feel connected for I know there are always others I can lean on if needed. Below are some pictures of the things I’ve done and people I’ve met, and I hope as the weeks pass I have even more to share!

Leave a comment